ISFDB banner

1998 Bram Stoker Award

You are not logged in. If you create a free account and sign in, you will be able to customize what is displayed.

Award Years for Bram Stoker Award

1980's:  -   -   -   -   -   -   -  1987 1988 1989
1990's: 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999
2000's: 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009
2010's: 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018  - 
Superior Achievement in a Novel
Win Bag of Bones Stephen King
Nomination Darker Angels S. P. Somtow
Nomination Fear Nothing Dean Koontz
Nomination Fog Heart Thomas Tessier
--- Preliminary Nominees -------
* After Midnight Richard Laymon
* Big Rock Beat Greg Kihn
* Burning Bright Jay Russell
* Chasm Stephen Laws
* Dawn Song Michael Marano
* Head Case Jay R. Bonansinga
* Judgment of Tears: Anno Dracula 1959 Kim Newman
* Ladies' Night Jack Ketchum
* Portrait of the Psychopath As a Young Woman Edward Lee and Elizabeth Steffen
* Reborn Nancy Kilpatrick
* Red Shadows Yvonne Navarro
* Santa Steps Out Robert Devereaux
* The Halloween Man Douglas Clegg
* The Midnight Tour Richard Laymon
* The Revenant Phoebe Reeves
* The Store Bentley Little
* The Tooth Fairy Graham Joyce
Superior Achievement in a First Novel
Win Dawn Song Michael Marano
Nomination Night Prayers P. D. Cacek
Nomination Silk Caitlín R. Kiernan
Nomination The Symbiotic Fascination Charlee Jacob
--- Preliminary Nominees -------
* Angelique's Descent Lara Parker
* Carmilla: The Return Kyle Marffin
* Storytellers Julie Anne Parks
* The Queen of Darkness Miguel Conner
Superior Achievement in a Work for Young Readers
Win Bigger Than Death Nancy Etchemendy
Nomination The Angel Chronicles, Volume 1 Nancy Holder
Nomination The Dollhouse That Time Forgot Mike Ford
Nomination Hungry Ghosts Ellen Steiber
Superior Achievement in a Comic Book, Graphic Novel or Other Illustrated Narrative
Win No Award -
Nomination Preacher Garth Ennis
Nomination Sergio Aragones' Dia De Las Muertos Sergio Aragones and Mark Evanier
Nomination The Dreaming: Trial and Error Len Wein
Nomination The Son of Man Garth Ennis
Superior Achievement in Long Fiction
Win Mr. Clubb and Mr. Cuff Peter Straub
Nomination As Above, So Below Brian Hodge
Nomination Leavings P. D. Cacek
Nomination What Would You Do for Love? John Shirley
--- Preliminary Nominees -------
* Adhumbia Gary A. Braunbeck
* Blackburn Bakes Cookies Bradley Denton
* Feral Joyce Carol Oates
* Safe Gary A. Braunbeck
* The Bible in Blood Ian Watson
* The Bleeding of Hauptmann Gehlen William R. Trotter
* The Boss in the Wall: A Treatise on the House Devil Avram Davidson and Grania Davis
* The Space Between the Lines Peter Crowther
* Van Brunt and Visitation Alan Rodgers
Superior Achievement in Short Fiction
Win The Dead Boy at Your Window Bruce Holland Rogers
Nomination Autopsy Room Four Stephen King
Nomination Blues-Born Tina L. Jens
Nomination The Rug Edo van Belkom
--- Preliminary Nominees -------
* A Southern Night Jane Yolen
* Blackbirds Norman Partridge
* Blameless David Niall Wilson
* Doctor, Lawyer, Kansas City Chief Brent Monahan
* Echoes Cindie Geddes
* Every Angel Is Terrifying John Kessel
* Gills David J. Schow
* Grandpa's Head Lawrence Watt-Evans
* Haunted Charles L. Grant
* Icewall William D. Gagliani
* Lifeline Yvonne Navarro
* Lighting the Corpses Del Stone, Jr.
* Mister Pigman George Guthridge
* Night Call Richard T. Chizmar
* Please Help Me Richard Christian Matheson
* Point of Intersection Dominick Cancilla
* Scanning Richard Gilliam
* So You Wanna Be a Hitman Gary Jonas
* The Game Melanie Tem
* The Solborne Vampire Charles Sheffield
* Twins John Pelton
Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection
Win Black Butterflies: A Flock on the Dark Side John Shirley
Nomination Leavings P. D. Cacek
Nomination Smoke and Mirrors: Short Fictions and Illusions Neil Gaiman
Nomination The Cleft and Other Odd Tales Gahan Wilson
--- Preliminary Nominees -------
* Crypt Orchids David J. Schow
* Death Drives a Semi Edo van Belkom
* Falling Idols Brian Hodge
* Flowers From the Moon and Other Lunacies Robert Bloch
* Last Summer at Mars Hill Elizabeth Hand
* One Day Closer to Death: Eight Stabs at Immortality Bradley Denton
* The Collector of Hearts Joyce Carol Oates
* The Exit at Toledo Blade Boulevard Jack Ketchum
* The Night We Buried Road Dog Jack Cady
Superior Achievement in a Screenplay
Win Dark City (IMDB) Alex Proyas and Lem Dobbs and David S. Goyer
Win Gods and Monsters (IMDB) Bill Condon and Christopher Bram
Nomination Fallen (IMDB) Nicholas Kazan
Nomination Millennium - Somehow Satan Got Behind Me Darin Morgan
Superior Achievement in an Anthology
Win Horrors! 365 Scary Stories: Get Your Daily Dose of Terror Stefan Dziemianowicz and Martin H. Greenberg and Robert Weinberg
Nomination Imagination Fully Dilated Alan M. Clark and Elizabeth Engstrom
Nomination Robert Bloch's Psychos Robert Bloch
Nomination The Best of Cemetery Dance, Volume One Richard Chizmar
Nomination The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Eleventh Annual Collection Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling
--- Preliminary Nominees -------
* Dark Terrors 4 Stephen Jones and David Sutton
* Darkside: Horror for the Next Millennium John Pelan
* In the Shadow of the Gargoyle Nancy Kilpatrick and Thomas S. Roche
* The Crow: Shattered Lives and Broken Dreams Ed Kramer and J. O'Barr
* The Darkest Thirst uncredited
Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction
Win DarkEcho Newsletter, Vol. 5 #1-50 Paula Guran
Nomination A Writer's Tale Richard Laymon
Nomination Gothic Horror: A Reader's Guide from Poe to King and Beyond Clive Bloom
Nomination The Science of The X-Files Jeanne Cavelos
--- Preliminary Nominees -------
* Mondo Macabro: Weird and Wonderful Cinema Around the World Pete Tombs
* Necrofile Stefan Dziemianowicz and S. T. Joshi and Michael A. Morrison
* St. James Guide to Horror, Ghost & Gothic Writers David Pringle
* The Vampire Gallery: A Who's Who of the Undead J. Gordon Melton
* Video Watchdog, #s 43-48 Tim Lucas
Superior Achievement in Other Media
Win No Award -
Nomination Gothic at Midnight: A Tribute to the Masters of the Macabre Joshua Kane
Nomination John Carpenter's Vampires John Carpenter
Nomination The Misfits: American Psycho John Cafiero
Nomination Universal Horror Kevin Brownlow
Special Small Press Award
Win Gauntlet Barry Hoffman
Life Achievement
Win ---- Ramsey Campbell
Win ---- Roger Corman
Win ---- Edward Gorey
Win ---- Charles L. Grant

Copyright © 1995-2020 Al von Ruff and the ISFDB team
ISFDB Engine - Version 4.00 (04/24/06)