ISFDB banner

1980 Balrog Award

You are not logged in. If you create a free account and sign in, you will be able to customize what is displayed.

Award Years for Balrog Award

1970's:  -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -  1979
1980's: 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985  -   -   -   - 
Win Dragondrums Anne McCaffrey
Nomination Death's Master Tanith Lee
Nomination Fires of Azeroth C. J. Cherryh
Nomination Harpist in the Wind Patricia A. McKillip
Nomination Strange Eons Robert Bloch
Nomination The Dead Zone Stephen King
Nomination The Drawing of the Dark Tim Powers
Nomination The Road to Corlay Richard Cowper
Nomination The Stand Stephen King
Nomination The Starfollowers of Coramonde Brian Daley
Short Fiction
Win The Last Defender of Camelot Roger Zelazny
Nomination "All You Zombies ..." Robert A. Heinlein
Nomination Dreams of the Dreamer Joeseph Hammond
Nomination Northern Chess Tanith Lee
Nomination The Ocean of Souls Adrian Cole
Nomination Sandkings George R. R. Martin
Nomination Spareen Among the Tartars Susan C. Petrey
Nomination The Button Molder Fritz Leiber
Nomination The Dreamstone C. J. Cherryh
Nomination The Fane of the Grey Rose Charles de Lint
Nomination Vision Ben Bova
Nomination The Well at the Half Cat John Tibbetts
Amateur Achievement
Win for Fantasy Newsletter and Of Swords and Sorcery Paul C. Allen
Nomination for art contributions to various fanzines Jane Frank
Nomination for fantasy art series Gerry de la Ree
Nomination for fantasy illustration Wendy Pini
Nomination for Lovecraft publications, Necronomicon Press Marc Michaud
Nomination for T.A.S.P. magazine and promoting speculative fiction poetry Robert Frazier
Nomination for ten years of publishing Space & Time Gordon Linzner
Nomination for Voidal tales and other fiction Adrian Cole
Nomination for Whispers magazine Stuart David Schiff
Amateur Publication
Win Fantasy Newsletter Paul C. Allen
Nomination Eldritch Tales Unknown-Mags
Nomination Fantasy Unknown-Mags
Nomination Night Voyages Unknown-Mags
Nomination Pandora Unknown-Mags
Nomination Robert E. Howard United Press Association Unknown-Mags
Nomination Shayol Pat Cadigan and Arnie Fenner
Nomination Space & Time Unknown-Mags
Nomination Weirdbook W. Paul Ganley
Nomination Whispers Stuart David Schiff
Win ---- Michael Whelan
Nomination ---- Richard Corben
Nomination ---- Gene Day
Nomination ---- Stephen Fabian
Nomination ---- Fernando Fernandez
Nomination ---- Jane Frank
Nomination ---- The Brothers Hildebrandt
Nomination ---- Tim Kirk
Nomination ---- Don Maitz
Nomination ---- J. K. Potter
Nomination ---- Judy King Rieniets
Nomination ---- Barry Smith
Nomination ---- Darrell K. Sweet
Nomination ---- John Tibbetts
Nomination ---- Boris Vallejo
Nomination ---- Charles Vess
Nomination ---- Joseph Zucker
Win Night Shift Stephen King
Nomination Alchemy and Academe Anne McCaffrey
Nomination Amazons! Jessica Amanda Salmonson
Nomination Companions on the Road and The Winter Players Tanith Lee
Nomination Fireflood and Other Stories Vonda N. McIntyre
Nomination Green Magic Jack Vance
Nomination Heroic Fantasy Gerald W. Page and Hank Reinhardt
Nomination Shadows 2 Charles L. Grant
Nomination Swords Against Darkness IV Andrew J. Offutt
Nomination Swords Against Darkness V Andrew J. Offutt
Nomination The Book of Munn H. Warner Munn
Nomination The Howard Collector Robert E. Howard
Nomination The Princess of All Lands Russell Kirk
Nomination The Year's Finest Fantasy Terry Carr
Nomination Thieves' World Robert Asprin
Nomination Webs of Time Joseph Payne Brennan
Nomination Whispers II Stuart Schiff
Fantasy Film Hall of Fame
Win Fantasia (IMDB) Disney Studios
Nomination King Kong (IMDB) Merian C. Cooper and James Ashmore Creelman and Ruth Rose and Edgar Wallace
Nomination Nosferatu (IMDB) Henrik Galeen and Bram Stoker
Nomination Superman (IMDB) Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster and Mario Puzo and David Newman and Leslie Newman and Robert Benton
Nomination The Hobbit (IMDB) Romeo Muller and J. R. R. Tolkien
Nomination The Lord of the Rings (IMDB) J. R. R. Tolkien and Peter S. Beagle and Chris Conkling
Nomination The Thief of Bagdad (IMDB) Lajos Biro and Miles Malleson
Nomination Watership Down (IMDB) Richard Adams and Martin Rosen
Nomination Wizards (IMDB) Ralph Bakshi
Win ---- H. Warner Munn
Nomination ---- Wilfred Beaver
Nomination ---- Joseph Payne Brennan
Nomination ---- Lucile Coleman
Nomination ---- Thomas M. Egan
Nomination ---- Steve Eng
Nomination ---- Joey Froehlich
Nomination ---- Frederick J. Mayer
Professional Achievement
Win ---- Anne McCaffrey
Nomination ---- Michael Bishop
Nomination ---- C. J. Cherryh
Nomination ---- Donald M. Grant
Nomination ---- Stephen King
Nomination ---- Ursula K. Le Guin
Nomination ---- Fritz Leiber
Nomination ---- Gerald W. Page
Nomination ---- Karl Edward Wagner
Nomination ---- Manly Wade Wellman
Nomination ---- Donald A. Wollheim
Professional Publication
Win Omni Ben Bova
Nomination Analog's fantasy contributions Unknown-Mags
Nomination Asimov's Science Fiction George H. Scithers
Nomination Heavy Metal Unknown-Mags
Nomination Locus's fantasy news and reviews Charles N. Brown
Nomination Lovecraft's Providence H. P. L. Beckwith
Nomination Starlog Howard Zimmerman
Nomination Swords Against Darkness Andrew J. Offutt
Nomination The Book of Munn H. Warner Munn
Nomination The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction Edward L. Ferman
Nomination Whispers Press Stuart David Schiff
SF Film Hall of Fame
Win 2001: A Space Odyssey (IMDB) Arthur C. Clarke and Stanley Kubrick
Win Star Wars (IMDB) George Lucas
Nomination Alien (IMDB) Ronald Shusett and Dan O'Bannon and David Giler and Walter Hill
Nomination Close Encounters of the Third Kind (IMDB) Steven Spielberg
Nomination Dark Star (IMDB) John Carpenter and Dan O'Bannon
Nomination Forbidden Planet (IMDB) Alan J. Adler and Irving Block and Cyril Hume
Nomination Invasion of the Body Snatchers (IMDB) Jack Finney and W. D. Richter
Nomination Metropolis (IMDB) Fritz Lang and Thea von Harbou
Nomination Planet of the Apes (IMDB) Pierre Boulle and Rod Serling and Michael Wilson
Nomination Silent Running (IMDB) Steve Bocho and Michael Cimino and Deric Washburn
Nomination Star Trek: The Motion Picture (IMDB) Alan Dean Foster and Harold Livingston
Nomination The Black Hole (IMDB) Bob Barbash and Gerry Day and Richard H. Landau and Jeb Rosebrook
Nomination The Day the Earth Stood Still (IMDB) Harry Bates and Edmund H. North
Nomination The Thing (IMDB) John W. Campbell, Jr. and Ben Hecht and Charles Lederer
Nomination Things to Come (IMDB) H. G. Wells
Nomination War of the Worlds (IMDB) Barre Lyndon and H. G. Wells
Special Award
Win ---- Ian Ballantine and Betty Ballantine

Copyright © 1995-2020 Al von Ruff and the ISFDB team
ISFDB Engine - Version 4.00 (04/24/06)