ISFDB banner

1981 Balrog Award

You are not logged in. If you create a free account and sign in, you will be able to customize what is displayed.

Award Years for Balrog Award

1970's:  -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -  1979
1980's: 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985  -   -   -   - 
Win The Wounded Land Stephen R. Donaldson
Nomination Ariosto Chelsea Quinn Yarbro
Nomination Firelord Parke Godwin
Nomination Firestarter Stephen King
Nomination Kill the Dead Tanith Lee
Nomination Lord Valentine's Castle Robert Silverberg
Nomination On Wings of Song Thomas M. Disch
Nomination Shadowland Peter Straub
Nomination The Book of Suns Nancy Springer
Nomination The Lost Legion H. Warner Munn
Nomination The Orphan Robert Stallman
Nomination The Parasite (variant of To Wake the Dead) Ramsey Campbell
Nomination The Shadow of the Torturer Gene Wolfe
Nomination The Snow Queen Joan D. Vinge
Nomination The Vampire Tapestry Suzy McKee Charnas
Short Fiction
Win The Web of the Magi Richard Cowper
Nomination A Matter of Ceremony Sharon Lee
Nomination A Penny for Your Thoughts George Clayton Johnson
Nomination Call for the Dead Glen Cook
Nomination Children of the Kingdom T. E. D. Klein
Nomination Feesters in the Lake Bob Leman
Nomination Nothing in the Dark (teleplay) George Clayton Johnson
Nomination The Brave Little Toaster Thomas M. Disch
Nomination The Ugly Chickens Howard Waldrop
Amateur Achievement
Win for Fantasy Newsletter Paul C. Allen and Susan Allen
Nomination for editing Dragonfields Charles de Lint
Nomination for fantasy art books Gerry de la Ree
Nomination for Fantasy Artists Network Kathy Hammel
Nomination for Necronomicon Press Marc Michaud
Nomination for promoting sf/fantasy verse Robert Frazier
Nomination for Weird Tales Collector and Weird Menaces Robert Weinberg
Nomination for Whispers Stuart David Schiff
Nomination for work with Small Press Writers & Artists Organization Charles R. Saunders
Amateur Publication
Win Fantasy Newsletter Paul C. Allen
Nomination Dragon Fields Unknown-Mags
Nomination Eldritch Tales Unknown-Mags
Nomination Fantasy Unknown-Mags
Nomination Fantasy Tales Stephen Jones and David Sutton
Nomination Locus Charles N. Brown
Nomination Lovecraft Studies Unknown-Mags
Nomination Rehupa Unknown-Mags
Nomination Science Fiction Review Richard E. Geis
Nomination Shayol Pat Cadigan and Arnie Fenner
Nomination Space & Time Unknown-Mags
Nomination Weird Tales Collector Unknown-Mags
Nomination Weirdbook W. Paul Ganley
Nomination Whispers Stuart David Schiff
Win ---- Frank Frazetta
Nomination ---- Alicia Austin
Nomination ---- Thomas Canty
Nomination ---- Toss Chandler
Nomination ---- Stephen Fabian
Nomination ---- Don Maitz
Nomination ---- Rowena Morrill
Nomination ---- Real Musgrave
Nomination ---- J. K. Potter
Nomination ---- Judy King Rieniets
Nomination ---- Michael Whelan
Nomination ---- Bernie Wrightson
Win Unfinished Tales of Númenor and Middle-Earth J. R. R. Tolkien
Nomination Amazons! Jessica Amanda Salmonson
Nomination Basilisk Ellen Kushner
Nomination Dark Forces Kirby McCauley
Nomination Dragons of Light Orson Scott Card
Nomination Heroes and Horrors Fritz Leiber
Nomination New Tales of the Cthulhu Mythos Ramsey Campbell
Nomination New Terrors Ramsey Campbell
Nomination San Diego Lightfoot Sue and Other Stories Tom Reamy
Nomination Shadows 2 Charles L. Grant
Nomination Tales from the Vulgar Unicorn Robert Asprin
Nomination The Keeper's Price and Other Stories Marion Zimmer Bradley
Nomination The Year's Best Horror Stories: Series VIII Karl Edward Wagner
Nomination Writing for the Twilight Zone George Clayton Johnson
Nomination Writing for the Twilight Zone George Clayton Johnson
Fantasy Film Hall of Fame
Win The Wizard of Oz (IMDB) L. Frank Baum and Noel Langley and Florence Ryerson and Edgar Allan Woolf
Nomination Bambi (IMDB) Chuck Couch and Carl Fallbberg and Larry Morey and Felix Salten and Melvin Shaw and George Stallings and Ralph Wright
Nomination Dracula (IMDB) John L. Balderston and Louis Bromfield and Hamilton Deane and Garrett Fort and Dudley,Stevens,Louis Murphy and Bram Stoker
Nomination King Kong (IMDB) Merian C. Cooper and James Ashmore Creelman and Ruth Rose and Edgar Wallace
Nomination Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (IMDB) Dorothy Ann Blank and Richard Creedon and Merrill De Maris and Otto Englander and Jacob Ludwig Carl Grimm and Wilhelm Carl Grimm and Earl Hurd and Dick Rickard and Ted Sears and Webb Smith
Nomination Superman (IMDB) Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster and Mario Puzo and David Newman and Leslie Newman and Robert Benton
Nomination The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (IMDB) Hans Janowitz and Carl Mayer
Nomination The Empire Strikes Back (IMDB) George Lucas and Leigh Brackett and Lawrence Kasdan
Nomination The Lord of the Rings (IMDB) J. R. R. Tolkien and Peter S. Beagle and Chris Conkling
Nomination The Thief of Bagdad (IMDB) Lajos Biro and Miles Malleson
Nomination Watership Down (IMDB) Richard Adams and Martin Rosen
Nomination Wizards (IMDB) Ralph Bakshi
Win ---- H. Warner Munn
Nomination ---- Joseph Payne Brennan
Nomination ---- Thomas M. Egan
Nomination ---- Steve Eng
Nomination ---- Frederick J. Mayer
Nomination ---- Diana L. Paxson
Nomination ---- Stephanie Stearns
Professional Achievement
Win for contributions, including the Star Wars saga George Lucas
Nomination for a lifetime of fiction writing Fritz Leiber
Nomination for a lifetime of writing contributions H. Warner Munn
Nomination for articles and interviews Jeffrey Elliot
Nomination for contributions to fantasy literature Harlan Ellison
Nomination for editing at Gregg Press, Pocket Books, and Simon & Schuster David G. Hartwell
Nomination for editing Dark Forces Kirby McCauley
Nomination for his Kane series and editing Karl Edward Wagner
Nomination for life work in the field of fantasy Frank Kelly Freas and Polly Freas
Nomination for popularizing horror/fantasy fiction Stephen King
Nomination for publication of fine fantasy works Donald M. Grant
Nomination for publishing efforts Tim Underwood and Chuck Miller
Nomination for publishing his father's work Christopher Tolkien
Professional Publication
Win The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction Edward L. Ferman
Nomination Amazing Science Fiction Stories Ted White
Nomination Asimov's Science Fiction George H. Scithers
Nomination Fangoria Unknown-Mags
Nomination Heavy Metal Unknown-Mags
Nomination Omni Ben Bova
Nomination Starlog Howard Zimmerman
Nomination Whispers Press Stuart David Schiff
Nomination Writing for the Twilight Zone George Clayton Johnson
SF Film Hall of Fame
Win The Empire Strikes Back (IMDB) George Lucas and Leigh Brackett and Lawrence Kasdan
Nomination A Clockwork Orange (IMDB) Anthony Burgess and Stanley Kubrick
Nomination Alien (IMDB) Ronald Shusett and Dan O'Bannon and David Giler and Walter Hill
Nomination Close Encounters of the Third Kind (IMDB) Steven Spielberg
Nomination Dark Star (IMDB) John Carpenter and Dan O'Bannon
Nomination Forbidden Planet (IMDB) Alan J. Adler and Irving Block and Cyril Hume
Nomination Invasion of the Body Snatchers (IMDB) Jack Finney and W. D. Richter
Nomination Metropolis (IMDB) Fritz Lang and Thea von Harbou
Nomination Silent Running (IMDB) Steve Bocho and Michael Cimino and Deric Washburn
Nomination Superman (IMDB) Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster and Mario Puzo and David Newman and Leslie Newman and Robert Benton
Nomination The Day the Earth Stood Still (IMDB) Harry Bates and Edmund H. North
Nomination The Lathe of Heaven (IMDB) Ursula K. Le Guin
Nomination Things to Come (IMDB) H. G. Wells
Nomination War of the Worlds (IMDB) Barre Lyndon and H. G. Wells
Special Award
Win ---- Jorge Luís Borges
Win ---- Fritz Leiber

Copyright © 1995-2021 Al von Ruff and the ISFDB team
ISFDB Engine - Version 4.00 (2006-04-24)