ISFDB banner

1983 Balrog Award

You are not logged in. If you create a free account and sign in, you will be able to customize what is displayed.

Award Years for Balrog Award

1970's:  -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -   -  1979
1980's: 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985  -   -   -   - 
Win The One Tree Stephen R. Donaldson
Nomination Hawkmistress! Marion Zimmer Bradley
Nomination The Citadel of the Autarch Gene Wolfe
Nomination The Crystal Singer Anne McCaffrey
Nomination The Sword of the Lictor Gene Wolfe
Nomination The Warlock Unlocked Christopher Stasheff
Short Fiction
Win All of Us Are Dying George Clayton Johnson
Nomination A Pattern of Silver Strings Charles de Lint
Nomination An Act of Faith Galad Elflandsson
Nomination Fire Watch Connie Willis
Nomination The General's Wife Peter Straub
Amateur Achievement
Win for SF workshops Allan Bechtold
Nomination Eldritch Tales Crispin Burnham
Nomination for Crypt of Cthulhu Robert Price
Nomination for Othergates Millea Kenin
Nomination for Space & Time Gordon Linzner
Nomination for Whispers Press Stuart David Schiff
Amateur Publication
Win Shayol Pat Cadigan and Arnie Fenner
Nomination Eldritch Tales Unknown-Mags
Nomination Fantasy Newsletter Robert A. Collins
Nomination Locus Charles N. Brown
Nomination Psycho II Unknown-Mags
Nomination Science Fiction Chronicle - 1982 Andrew Porter
Nomination Space & Time Unknown-Mags
Nomination Weirdbook W. Paul Ganley
Nomination Well of the Souls Unknown-Mags
Nomination Whispers Stuart David Schiff
Win ---- Tim Hildebrandt
Nomination ---- Thomas Canty
Nomination ---- Brian Froud
Nomination ---- Stephen King
Nomination ---- Rowena Morrill
Nomination ---- Darrell Murdock
Nomination ---- Real Musgrave
Nomination ---- Judy King Rieniets
Win Storm Season Robert Asprin
Nomination Elsewhere, Vol. II Mark Alan Arnold and Terri Windling
Nomination Hecate's Cauldron Susan M. Shwartz
Nomination Shadows 5 Charles L. Grant
Nomination Shadows of Sanctuary Robert Asprin
Nomination Stalking the Nightmare Harlan Ellison
Nomination The Last Incantation Clark Ashton Smith
Fantasy Film Hall of Fame
Win The Dark Crystal (IMDB) Jim Henson and David Odell
Nomination Conan the Barbarian (IMDB) Robert E. Howard and John Milius and Oliver Stone
Nomination Dragonslayer (IMDB) Hal Barwood and Matthew Robbins
Nomination Frankenstein (IMDB) John L. Balderston and Francis Edward Faragoh and Robert Florey and Garrett Fort and John Russell and Mary Shelley and Peggy Webling
Nomination Quest for Fire (IMDB) Gérard Brach and J. H. Rosny, Sr.
Nomination Raiders of the Lost Ark (IMDB) George Lucas and Philip Kaufman and Lawrence Kasdan
Nomination The Seventh Voyage of Sinbad (IMDB) Ken Kolb
Nomination The Thief of Bagdad (IMDB) Lajos Biro and Miles Malleson
Win ---- Frederick J. Mayer
Nomination ---- Lee Barwood
Nomination ---- Steve Eng
Nomination ---- Robert E. Howard
Nomination ---- Stephanie Stearns
Nomination ---- Roger Zelazny
Professional Achievement
Win for writing and editing Omni and Analog Ben Bova
Nomination for 50 years of writing Andre Norton
Nomination for fantasy and art shows Pendragon Gallery
Nomination for poetry Frederick J. Mayer
Nomination for publishing Lester del Rey
Nomination for publishing Donald M. Grant
Nomination for writing and encouraging new writers Harlan Ellison
Nomination Synergy, Inc. Robert Asprin
Professional Publication
Win The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction Edward L. Ferman
SF Film Hall of Fame
Win The Day the Earth Stood Still (IMDB) Harry Bates and Edmund H. North
Nomination Alien (IMDB) Ronald Shusett and Dan O'Bannon and David Giler and Walter Hill
Nomination Blade Runner (IMDB) Philip K. Dick and Hampton Fancher and David Webb Peoples
Nomination Dark Star (IMDB) John Carpenter and Dan O'Bannon
Nomination E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (IMDB) Melissa Mathison
Nomination Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan (IMDB) Harve Bennett and Jack B. Sowards
Nomination The Thing (IMDB) John W. Campbell, Jr. and Ben Hecht and Charles Lederer
Nomination Tron (IMDB) Steven Lisberger and Bonnie MacBird
Special Award
Win for encouragement of new talent Kirby McCauley

Copyright © 1995-2022 Al von Ruff and the ISFDB team
ISFDB Engine - Version 4.00 (2006-04-24)