ISFDB banner

Award Bibliography: Iain M. Banks

You are not logged in. If you create a free account and sign in, you will be able to customize what is displayed.

Author Picture
Image supplied by ISFDB on this Web page
Showing all translations. Registered users can choose which translations are shown.

Place Year and Award Title Category
22 1989 Locus The Player of Games Best SF Novel
Nomination 1990 BSFA Use of Weapons Best Novel
16 1990 Locus The State of the Art Best Novella
Finalists 1991 Clarke Use of Weapons Best Science Fiction Novel
Win 1991 Kurd Lasswitz Prize Die Brücke (translation of The Bridge) Bester ausländischer SF-Roman
Win 1992 Kurd Lasswitz Prize Die Wespenfabrik (translation of The Wasp Factory) Bester ausländischer SF-Roman
Win 1993 Kurd Lasswitz Prize Einsatz der Waffen (translation of Use of Weapons) Bester ausländischer SF-Roman
Nomination 1993 Imaginaire L'usage des armes (translation of Use of Weapons) Roman étranger
Win 1994 BSFA Feersum Endjinn Best Novel
Nominations Below Cutoff 1994 Hugo Against a Dark Background Best Novel
10 1994 Locus Against a Dark Background Best SF Novel
Win 1994 Imaginaire L'homme des jeux (translation of The Player of Games) Traduction
Nominations Below Cutoff 1995 Hugo Feersum Endjinn Best Novel
19 1995 Locus Feersum Endjinn Best SF Novel
Nomination 1995 Tiptree The Wasp Factory Retrospective
Win 1996 BSFA Excession Best Novel
Nominations Below Cutoff 1996 Tiptree Excession Gender-bending SF
Nomination 1997 BFA Excession August Derleth Fantasy Award (Best Novel)
Nominations Below Cutoff 1997 Hugo Excession Best Novel
13 1997 Locus Excession Best SF Novel
Preliminary Nominees 1997 Nebula Feersum Endjinn Novel
Nomination 1998 BSFA Inversions Best Novel
Win 1998 Kurd Lasswitz Prize Die Spur der toten Sonne (translation of Excession) Bestes ausländisches Werk
20 1999 Locus Best SF/Fantasy Author of the 90's
Nomination 1999 Kurd Lasswitz Prize Vor einem dunklen Hintergrund (translation of Against a Dark Background) Bestes ausländisches Werk
7 2001 Locus Look to Windward Best SF Novel
Nomination 2001 Kurd Lasswitz Prize Förchtbar Maschien (translation of Feersum Endjinn) Bestes ausländisches Werk
Nomination 2001 Kurd Lasswitz Prize Inversionen (translation of Inversions) Bestes ausländisches Werk
Nomination 2004 Kurd Lasswitz Prize Blicke windwärts (translation of Look to Windward) Bestes ausländisches Werk
3 2005 Hugo The Algebraist Best Novel
5 2005 Locus The Algebraist Best SF Novel
4 2005 Premio Ignotus Excesión (translation of Excession) Mejor novela extranjera - Best Foreign Novel
Preliminary Nominees 2008 BSFA Matter Best Novel
2 2009 Locus Matter Best SF Novel
Nomination 2009 Prometheus Matter Prometheus Award for Best Libertarian SF Novel
Finalists 2010 Campbell Memorial Transition Best Science Fiction Novel
6 2010 Locus Transition Best SF Novel
Nominations Below Cutoff 2010 Hugo Transition Best Novel
10 2010 Goodreads Surface Detail Science Fiction
4 2011 Locus Surface Detail Best SF Novel
Nominations Below Cutoff 2011 Hugo Surface Detail Best Novel
Nomination 2011 Kurd Lasswitz Prize Welten (translation of Transition) Bestes ausländisches Werk
Nomination 2011 Imaginaire L'essence de l'art (translation of The State of the Art) Nouvelle étrangère
Nomination 2012 Kurd Lasswitz Prize Krieg der Seelen (translation of Surface Detail) Bestes ausländisches Werk
20 2012 Goodreads The Hydrogen Sonata Science Fiction
1 2012 Premio Ignotus Última generación (translation of The State of the Art) Mejor cuento extranjero - Best Foreign Story
3 2012 Premio Ignotus La carretera de los cráneos (translation of Road of Skulls) Mejor cuento extranjero - Best Foreign Story
Win 2012 Imaginaire Les enfers virtuels (translation of Surface Detail) Traduction
Finalists 2013 Campbell Memorial The Hydrogen Sonata Best Science Fiction Novel
Nominations Below Cutoff 2013 Hugo The Hydrogen Sonata Best Novel
Win 2013 BFA The Karl Edward Wagner Award
3 2013 Locus The Hydrogen Sonata Best SF Novel
Preliminary Nominees 2013 Prometheus The Hydrogen Sonata Prometheus Award for Best Libertarian SF Novel
Preliminary Nominees 2014 Imaginaire Efroyabl ange1 (translation of Feersum Endjinn) Traduction
Nomination 2015 Kurd Lasswitz Prize Die Wasserstoffsonate (translation of The Hydrogen Sonata) Bestes ausländisches Werk
Copyright © 1995-2020 Al von Ruff and the ISFDB team
ISFDB Engine - Version 4.00 (04/24/06)