ISFDB banner

Award Category: Best Short Fiction (Shirley Jackson Award)

You are not logged in. If you create a free account and sign in, you will be able to customize what is displayed.

Displaying all wins and nominations for this category. You can also limit the list to the wins in this category.

Win The Monsters of Heaven Nathan Ballingrud
Nomination A Murder of Crows Elizabeth Ziemska
Nomination Holiday M. Rickert
Nomination Something in the Mermaid Way Carrie Laben
Nomination The Third Bear Jeff VanderMeer
Nomination Unique Chicken Goes in Reverse Andy Duncan
Win The Pile Michael Bishop
Nomination Evidence of Love in a Case of Abandonment: One Daughter's Personal Account M. Rickert
Nomination Intertropical Convergence Zone Nadia Bulkin
Nomination The Dinner Party Joshua Ferris
Nomination The Inner City Karen Heuler
Win The Pelican Bar Karen Joy Fowler
Nomination Faces Aimee Bender
Nomination Procedure in Plain Air Jonathan Lethem
Nomination Strappado Laird Barron
Nomination The Jacaranda Smile Gemma Files
Win The Things Peter Watts
Nomination As Red As Red
Caitlín R. Kiernan?Caitlin R. Kiernan
Nomination Booth's Ghost Karen Joy Fowler
Nomination Six Six Six Laird Barron
Nomination The Crevasse Dale Bailey and Nathan Ballingrud
Nomination The Foxes Lily Hoang
Win The Corpse Painter's Masterpiece M. Rickert
Nomination Absolute Zero Nadia Bulkin
Nomination Hair Joan Aiken
Nomination Max Jason Ockert
Nomination Sunbleached Nathan Ballingrud
Nomination Things to Know About Being Dead Genevieve Valentine
Win A Natural History of Autumn Jeffrey Ford
Nomination Bajazzle Margo Lanagan
Nomination How We Escaped Our Certain Fate Dan Chaon
Nomination Little America Dan Chaon
Nomination The Magician's Apprentice Tamsyn Muir
Nomination Two Houses Kelly Link
Win 57 Reasons for the Slate Quarry Suicides Sam J. Miller
Nomination Furnace Livia Llewellyn
Nomination That Tiny Flutter of the Heart I Used to Call Love Robert Shearman
Nomination The Memory Book Maureen McHugh
Nomination The Statue in the Garden Paul Park
Nomination The Traditional Maria Dahvana Headley
Win The Dog's Home Alison Littlewood
Nomination Candy Girl Chikodili Emelumadu
Nomination Shay Corsham Worsted Garth Nix
Nomination The Fisher Queen Alyssa Wong
Nomination Wendigo Nights Siobhan Carroll
Win The Dying Season Lynda E. Rucker
Nomination A Beautiful Memory Shannon Peavey
Nomination Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers Alyssa Wong
Nomination Seven Minutes in Heaven Nadia Bulkin
Nomination Wilderness Letitia Trent
Win Postcards from Natalie Carrie Laben
Nomination Animal Parts Irenosen Okojie
Nomination Red Katie Knoll
Nomination The Apartments Karen Heuler
Nomination Things with Beards Sam J. Miller
Win The Convexity of Our Youth Kurt Fawver
Nomination Blur Carmen Maria Machado
Nomination Live Through This Nadia Bulkin
Nomination The Mouse Queen Camilla Grudova
Nomination The Second Door Brian Evenson
Win The Astronaut Christina Wood Martinez
Nomination Back Seat Bracken MacLeod
Nomination Hell David Hansen
Nomination How to Be a Horror Writer Tim Waggoner
Translated from the Japanese by Polly Barton (online edition of Granta 144: genericlovestory). Unknown if this is genre.
The Woman Dies Aoko Matsuda
Win Kali_Na Indrapramit Das
Nomination How to Become a Witch-Queen Theodora Goss
Published online at Parhelion
The Truth About Josh Enloe Nick Straatmann
Translated by Megan McDowell, The Southern Review, Issue 55.1
The Well Mariana Enríquez
Appeared in The Pink Issue of Fairy Tale Review
Whistle, My Lad, and I Will Come Gina Ochsner
Win Not the Man I Married R. A. Busby
Nomination Graceful Burdens Roxane Gay
Nomination Holes R. A. Busby
Nomination Isn't Your Daughter Such a Doll Tobi Ogundiran
Nomination Mannequin and Wife Jen Fawkes
Nomination Moonflower, Nightshade, All the Hours of the Day J. D. Scott
Nomination Room and Board Included, Demonology Extra Eden Royce
Nomination The Memory Game Franki Haber
Win You'll Understand When You're a Mom Someday Isabel J. Kim
Nomination Dizzy in the Weeds L. D. Lewis
Nomination Forward, Victoria Carlie St. George
Nomination Gordon B. White Is Creating Haunting Weird Horror Gordon B. White
Nomination Human Reason Nicasio Andres Reed
Nomination Brother Maternitas Viktor Athelstan
Nomination Dick Pig Ian Muneshwar
First appeared in VASTARIEN: A Literary Journal, Vol. 5, Issue 1
Halogen Sky Wendy N. Wagner
Nomination Pre-Simulation Consultation XF007867 Kim Fu
First appeared in The Southern Review, Autumn 2022
The Church of Divine Electricity Emily Mitchell
Copyright © 1995-2024 Al von Ruff and the ISFDB team
ISFDB Engine - Version 4.00 (2006-04-24)