ISFDB banner

1997 British Fantasy Award

You are not logged in. If you create a free account and sign in, you will be able to customize what is displayed.

Award Years for British Fantasy Award

1970's:  -   -  1972 1973 1974 1975 1976 1977 1978 1979
1980's: 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989
1990's: 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999
2000's: 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009
2010's: 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019
2020's: 2020 2021 2022 2023  -   -   -   -   -   - 
August Derleth Fantasy Award (Best Novel)
Win The Tooth Fairy Graham Joyce
Nomination Assassin's Apprentice Robin Hobb
Nomination Excession Iain M. Banks
Nomination Hogfather Terry Pratchett
Nomination Sacrament Clive Barker
Nomination Scenting Hallowed Blood Storm Constantine
Nomination Spares Michael Marshall Smith
Nomination The Hellfire Club Peter Straub
--- Preliminary Nominees -------
* A Game of Thrones George R. R. Martin
* A Man Betrayed J. V. Jones
* A Sudden Wild Magic Diana Wynne Jones
* Ancient Echoes Robert Holdstock
* Asylum Patrick McGrath
* Bite Richard Laymon
* Blood Jay Russell
* Brightness Reef David Brin
* Celestial Dogs Jay Russell
* Cocaine Nights J. G. Ballard
* Dark Cathedral Freda Warrington
* Darker Simon Clark
* Dispossession Chaz Brenchley
* Dragonstorm Graham Edwards
* Endymion Dan Simmons
* House of Echoes Barbara Erskine
* Lady in Gil Rebecca Bradley
* Milton in America Peter Ackroyd
* Mr. Bad Face Mark Morris
* Necroscope: The Lost Years: Volume II Brian Lumley
* Neverwhere Neil Gaiman
* Royal Assassin Robin Hobb
* Shadow of Ashland Terence M. Green
* The Bloody Red Baron Kim Newman
* The Eternal Mark Chadbourn
* The Gap Into Ruin: This Day All Gods Die Stephen R. Donaldson
* The Green Mile Stephen King
* The House on Nazareth Hill Ramsey Campbell
* The House That Jack Built Graham Masterton
* The King's Demon Louise Cooper
* The Lost Jonathan Aycliffe
* The Memory Cathedral Jack Dann
* The Pillow Friend Lisa Tuttle
* The Two-Bear Mambo Joe R. Lansdale
* The Unicorn Sonata Peter S. Beagle
* The War Amongst the Angels Michael Moorcock
Best Short Fiction
Win Dancing About Architecture Martin Simpson
Nomination Citizen Ed Eugene Byrne and Kim Newman
Nomination Foreign Bodies Michael Marshall Smith
Nomination Hell Hath Enlarged Herself Michael Marshall Smith
Nomination Scars Jack Wainer
Nomination Teatro Grottesco Thomas Ligotti
Nomination The Bull Leapers Justina Robson
Nomination The Red Tower Thomas Ligotti
Best Anthology/Collection
Win The Nightmare Factory Thomas Ligotti
Nomination Blood Waters Chaz Brenchley
Nomination Dark Terrors 2 Stephen Jones and David Sutton
Nomination The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror: Volume 7 Stephen Jones
Nomination The Masterpieces of Shirley Jackson (variant of The Lottery and Other Stories / The Haunting of Hill House / We Have Always Lived in the Castle) Shirley Jackson
Nomination The Sandman: Book of Dreams Neil Gaiman and Edward E. Kramer
--- Preliminary Nominees -------
* A Book of Two Halves: New Football Short Stories Nicholas Royle
* It Came from the Drive-In Martin H. Greenberg and Norman Partridge
* Lethal Kisses Ellen Datlow
* Minor Arcana Diana Wynne Jones
* The Invisible Country Paul J. McAuley
* The Pavilion of Frozen Women S. P. Somtow
* Twists of the Tale Ellen Datlow
Best Artist
Win ---- Jim Burns
Nomination for Peeping Tom Madeleine Finnegan
Nomination for Visionary Tongue Ruby
Nomination ---- Les Edwards
Nomination ---- Ruby
Nomination ---- J. K. Potter
Nomination ---- Jim Pitts
Nomination ---- Dave McKean
Nomination ---- Madeleine Finnegan
Best Small Press
Win H. P. Lovecraft: A Life S. T. Joshi
Nomination Broadsword Nancy Sparling
Nomination Cemetery Dance Richard Chizmar
Nomination Ghosts and Scholars Rosemary Pardoe
Nomination Peeping Tom Stuart Hughes
Nomination The Third Alternative Andy Cox
Nomination Visionary Tongue Eloise Coquio
The Karl Edward Wagner Award
Win ---- Jo Fletcher

Copyright © 1995-2024 Al von Ruff and the ISFDB team
ISFDB Engine - Version 4.00 (2006-04-24)